



## ANNOUNCEMENT OF SUCCESSFUL APPLICATIONS FOR THE 2019 INNOVATION POSTDOCTORAL FELLOWSHIPS

The National Research Foundation (NRF) and the Department of Science and Technology (DST) are pleased to announce the provisional Innovation Postdoctoral Fellowship awards made for 2019. The awards have been made according to the strategic objectives of the DST-NRF Innovation Postdoctoral Fellowship funding instrument, the Ministerial Directives on equity targets and the available budget. The successful applicants are listed in Table 1 below. All awardees for the Innovation Postdoctoral Fellowships will be funded for 2 (two) years.

## **PLEASE NOTE:**

- If your name does not appear on the table that follows, you have not been awarded a fellowship for 2019.
- The NRF will forward award letters to successful candidates in December 2018.
- The NRF feedback on the review of applications will be forwarded to all unsuccessful applicants by March 2019.
- Once you have received the Conditions of grant (CoG), please read through the written agreement carefully before accepting the award.
- All signed and completed documentation must be forwarded to the NRF via the respective institutional office.
- Funds will only be released once the completed documentation has been received by the NRF.
- Awards not taken up by 30 June 2019, will be automatically cancelled, unless otherwise approved by the NRF.





Table 1. Successful applicants for the Innovation Postdoctoral Fellowships for 2019

Application Reference	Title	Initials	Surname	Institution
1. SFP180425324319	Dr	AA	Akande	University of Limpopo
2. SFP180507326754	Miss	M	Blignaut	Stellenbosch University
3. SFP180419322775	Mr	MJ	Маера	Tshwane University of Technology
4. SFP180418322468	Dr	Р	Pattrick	South African Environmental Observatory Network
5. SFP180417321888	Dr	CP	Uren	Stellenbosch University
6. SFP180503325690	Dr	BA	Grobler	Nelson Mandela University
7. SFP180411319558	Mr	M	Matandabuzo	University of Witwatersrand
8. SFP180413320699	Dr	PK	Mubiayi	Vaal University of Technology
9. SFP180413320364	Mr	OK	Overen	University of Fort Hare
10. SFP180507326859	Dr	KW	Poopedi	University of Limpopo
11. SFP180424323863	Dr	CK	Kahonde	Stellenbosch University
12. SFP180410319281	Mr	OA	Adebo	University of Johannesburg
13. SFP180503325708	Miss	LC	Cairncross	Nelson Mandela University
14. SFP180507326699	Dr	GF	Mzobe	Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa (CAPRISA)
15. SFP180410319309	Mr	VS	Thibane	Agricultural Research Council (South Africa)
16. SFP180419322791	Dr	Т	du Toit	Stellenbosch University
17. SFP180411319477	Dr	N	Mayedwa	iThemba Labs
18. SFP180503325763	Mrs	В	Malila	University of Cape Town
19. SFP180425324268	Dr	ER	Heyns-Veale	South African Institute for Aquatic Observatory
20. SFP180426324610	Dr	VJ	Madden	University of Witwatersrand
21. SFP180417321710	Ms	Н	Tshivhula	Stellenbosch University
22. SFP180413320288	Dr	GN	Okolo	North-West University





Application Reference	Title	Initials	Surname	Institution
23. SFP180416321232	Dr	M	Mulokwe	University of Pretoria
24. SFP180504326313	Dr	MH	Noorbhai	University of Cape Town
25. SFP180412320278	Dr	MB	Tincho	University of the Western Cape
26. SFP180502325290	Dr	M	Everts	University of Pretoria
27. SFP180419322762	Dr	E	Amponsah-Dacosta	University of Cape Town
28. SFP180502325445	Dr	В	Madikizela	University of Pretoria
29. SFP180413320410	Mrs	RS	Sathyan	University of the Western Cape
30. SFP180411319672	Miss	SIK	MIETA	University of Johannesburg
31. SFP180424323837	Dr	L	Sciscio	University of Johannesburg
32. SFP180417321970	Dr	ET	Mombeshora	University of KwaZulu-Natal
33. SFP180507326872	Mr	YH	Belay	University of Johannesburg
34. SFP180417321887	Mrs	S	Dahms-Verster	University of Johannesburg
35. SFP180424323966	Miss	NT	Mdodana	Stellenbosch University
36. SFP180424324043	Mr	GW	Woodford	Nelson Mandela University
37. SFP180503325732	Dr	SM	Bekker	University of Pretoria
38. SFP180509327261	Dr	FD	Faloye	Vaal University of Technology
39. SFP180501325216	Dr	KE	Motlhatlego	University of Witwatersrand
40. SFP180411319521	Miss	N	Devnarain	University of KwaZulu-Natal
41. SFP180502325250	Ms	NME	Boel	Rhodes University
42. SFP180423323603	Miss	AC	Hattingh	Nelson Mandela University
43. SFP180411319414	Dr	BA	Monchusi	University of Witwatersrand
44. SFP180422323414	Miss	K	van der Walt	South African Institute for Aquatic Observatory
45. SFP180508326981	Dr	PV	Tikilili	Mangosotho University of Technology
46. SFP180411319519	Miss	EA	Stander	University of the Western Cape





Application Reference	Title	Initials	Surname	Institution
47. SFP180417321801	Miss	SA	Sooklal	University of South Africa
48. SFP180421323374	Dr	TLM	Maduna	Stellenbosch University
49. SFP180419322757	Dr	SG	Buthelezi	Council for Scientific Industrial Research
50. SFP180424323821	Mrs	AML	Saraiva Okello	University of Zululand
51. SFP180423323701	Dr	UKAH	ABE	University of KwaZulu-Natal
52. SFP180417322101	Ms	Р	dube	Cape Peninsula University of Technology
53. SFP180418322487	Miss	М	Goboza	University of the Western Cape
54. SFP180415320989	Miss	T	Thaane	University of KwaZulu-Natal
55. SFP180418322367	Dr	N	Peer	Nelson Mandela University
56. SFP180411319396	Dr	NF	Naidu	Durban University of Technology
57. SFP180429324813	Miss	L	Shunmugam	University of KwaZulu-Natal
58. SFP180503325902	Miss	N	Libala	Rhodes University
59. SFP180411319641	Miss	Z	Soji	University of Fort Hare
60. SFP180423323518	Dr	ENL	Lumngwena	University of Cape Town
61. SFP180413320578	Miss	NPD	Nyalungu	University of the Western Cape
62. SFP180504326124	Ms	TI	Ekwomadu	North-West University
63. SFP180502325501	Mrs	OA	Oyewo	Tshwane University of Technology
64. SFP180426324508	Ms	L	Mahanjana	Nelson Mandela University
65. SFP180506326517	Mrs	М	Fortuin-Seedat	Nelson Mandela University
66. SFP180416321430	Miss	Т	Stempa	University of Fort Hare
67. SFP180417321780	Miss	JA	Kara	Stellenbosch University
68. SFP180420323128	Miss	R	Desai	Human Sciences Research Council

## We congratulate all 2019 awardees