



## ANNOUNCEMENT OF SUCCESSFUL APPLICATIONS FOR THE 2019 FREESTANDING POSTDOCTORAL FELLOWSHIPS

The National Research Foundation (NRF) and the Department of Science and Technology (DST) are pleased to announce the provisional DST-NRF Freestanding Postdoctoral Fellowship awards for 2019. Fellowships are awarded to fellows to undertake research in South Africa. Awards have been made according to the strategic objectives of the DST-NRF Freestanding Postdoctoral Fellowship funding instrument, the Ministerial Directives on equity targets and the available budget. The successful applicants to undertake research are listed in Table 1. All awardees for the DST-NRF Freestanding Postdoctoral Fellowships will be funded for 2 (two) years

## **PLEASE NOTE:**

- If your name does not appear on the table that follows, you have not been awarded a fellowship for 2019.
- The NRF will forward award letters to successful candidates in December 2018.
- The NRF feedback on the review of applications will be forwarded to all unsuccessful applicants by March 2019.
- Once you have received the Conditions of grant (CoG), please read through the written agreement carefully before accepting the award.
- All signed and completed documentation must be forwarded to the NRF via the respective institutional office.
- Funds will only be released once the completed documentation and requirements has been received by the NRF.
- Awards not taken up by 30 June 2019, will be automatically cancelled, unless otherwise approved by the NRF.





Table 1. Successful applicants for the DST-NRF Freestanding Postdoctoral Fellowship for 2019

Application Reference	Title	Surname	Initials	Institution
1. SFP180503325674	Dr	Elmardi	MYA	North-West University
2. SFP180411319692	Miss	Agbaje	TM	Durban University of Technology
3. SFP180421323308	Dr	SABIU	S	University of the Free State
4. SFP180414320867	Miss	Mkoba	ES	University of Johannesburg
5. SFP180427324697	Dr	Stears	K	South African Environmental Observatory Network
6. SFP180504326144	Ms	Cyulinyana	MC	University of Witwatersrand
7. SFP180425324234	Mr	Ndlovu	Z	Stellenbosch University
8. SFP180507326646	Dr	Van Der Horst	С	Cape Peninsula University of Technology
9. SFP180415320927	Dr	Odutemowo	OS	University of South Africa
10. SFP180412319975	Dr	Daly	R	South African Institute for Aquatic Observatory
11. SFP180417322076	Mr	Makhado	E	University of Limpopo
12. SFP180503325976	Dr	Fri	FJ	University of Fort Hare
13. SFP180427324692	Dr	Andrew	RC	University of Johannesburg
14. SFP180423323539	Mr	Baloyi	HOPE	Nelson Mandela University
15. SFP180508326920	Miss	Nyamukondiwa	Р	University of Venda
16. SFP180425324200	Mr	Subbiah	Α	University of KwaZulu-Natal
17. SFP180420323149	Mr	Sikiti	Р	Stellenbosch University
18. SFP180423323531	Dr	Engelbrecht	Z	University of Johannesburg
19. SFP180509327304	Dr	Nyawade	EA	University of the Western Cape
20. SFP180420323074	Mrs	Albertyn	S	Rhodes University
21. SFP180418322231	Dr	Visser	M	Stellenbosch University
22. SFP180508326896	Mr	Thatyana	M	University of Witwatersrand





Application Reference	Title	Surname	Initials	Institution
23. SFP180511327841	Mr	Van Laar	JH	South African Nuclear Energy Corporation
24. SFP180503325941	Mr	Chukwuma	CI	University of the Free State
25. SFP180412320041	Dr	Luies	L	University of Cape Town
26. SFP180430324914	Mr	Zungu	MM	University of KwaZulu-Natal
27. SFP180429324810	Dr	Ismail	E	Cape Peninsula University of Technology
28. SFP180429324809	Mr	Adefeso	IB	
				Durban University of Technology  Council for Scientific Industrial Research
29. SFP180509327484	Mr	Madonsela	S	
30. SFP180424323858	Dr	Snyman	LP	University of Pretoria
31. SFP180424323943	Ms	Human	С	Agricultural Research Council (South Africa)
32. SFP180426324571	Mr	Makaula	DX	University of Cape Town
33. SFP180412319976	Dr	Strydom	S	University of KwaZulu-Natal
34. SFP180413320381	Dr	Onagbiye	SO	University of the Western Cape
35. SFP180418322441	Mrs	Horn	SR	North-West University
36. SFP180502325304	Dr	Alexander	OT	University of the Free State
37. SFP180425324186	Mr	Eselem Bungu	PS	Stellenbosch University
38. SFP180417321930	Dr	Ajayi	TJ	Mangosuthu University of Technology
39. SFP180418322445	Dr	Leibbrandt	DC	University of Witwatersrand
40. SFP180502325272	Dr	Apollo	SO	Vaal University of Technology
41. SFP180416321148	Mr	Marais	TS	University of Cape Town
42. SFP180420323015	Dr	Nyamunda	Т	University of the Free State
43. SFP180509327390	Dr	Marara	Т	North-West University
44. SFP180420323123	Dr	Mlombo	Α	University of the Free State
45. SFP180412319961	Mr	Chavalala	TL	Rhodes University
46. SFP180502325393	Ms	Viljoen	N	National Institute for Communicable Diseases
47. SFP180430324953	Miss	Simpson	MC	University of Pretoria





Application Reference	Title	Surname	Initials	Institution
48. SFP180425324241	Dr	Chabeda	EA	University of Cape Town
49. SFP180416321151	Dr	Marsberg	Т	Rhodes University
50. SFP180427324639	Dr	Diala	AC	North-West University
51. SFP180418322366	Mr	Ngoepe	MP	University of Witwatersrand
52. SFP180508326989	Dr	Njom	HA	University of Mpumalanga
53. SFP180418322475	Ms	Basson	Α	Agricultural Research Council (South Africa)
54. SFP180422323444	Mrs	Chipeta	EM	University of Witwatersrand
55. SFP180426324599	Ms	Dawson	HJ	University of Witwatersrand
56. SFP180501325142	Advocate	Nyaata	VMN	University of KwaZulu-Natal
57. SFP180509327291	Dr	Rivers	NR	Nelson Mandela University
58. SFP180428324797	Dr	Moyo	Z	University of Johannesburg
59. SFP180419322893	Ms	Walters	CA	Stellenbosch University

We congratulate all 2019 awardees